Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame Announces Board of Directors for upcoming year

This past week, the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame held its Annual General Meeting. At that meeting, the Board of Directors was voted on for the upcoming year.

The Hall of Fame Board is constructed of representatives from Canadian racing industry organizations as well as individuals voted in at-large.

Before the election of the incoming Board of Directors, the outgoing members voted to revise the Hall of Fame’s bylaws to increase the number of positions available in the capacity of Director at Large/other Directors to two, resulting in the total number of Board Members being 13. The addition of a second Director at Large provides a greater opportunity for members of the Canadian racing industry to participate in the oversight and operation of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

The following is the incoming Board of Directors of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame:

Peter Berringer & Dermot Carty – Canadian Thoroughbred Horse Society
Veronica Attard & Sue Leslie – Horsemen’s Benevolent & Protection Association
Irwin Driedger – Jockey’s Benefit Association of Canada
Jessica Buckley & Bill McLinchey – Racetracks of Canada
Ian Fleming & Darryl Kaplan – Standardbred Canada
William Andrew & Bill O’Donnell – Representing Canadian Standardbred Horsemen’s Organizations
Jim Bannon & John Stapleton – two additional directors as allocated in the bylaws

Among the Directors are five Honoured Members of the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame.

The executive of the CHRHF elected for the coming year include Darryl Kaplan, re-elected as President, Jessica Buckley, elected as Vice-President, Stacey Newman as Treasurer and Lesley Barker as Secretary.

A complete list of all Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame committees and members can be found here

Additional information about the Canadian Horse Racing Hall of Fame is available at or by contacting or 416-417-9404

Published April 28, 2020